Our congregation belongs to the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA). Like all Unitarian Universalist churches and fellowships, we are independent of the UUA in terms of governing decisions. This means that governing authority (polity) rests with each congregation. As with our “free and responsible search for truth and meaning,” our gathered community is free to ordain, hire, and fire staff members, elect its own leaders, and grow in relationship to other congregations, and be responsible for raising and managing its own funds, and staying in right relations (being in covenant) with one another.

Our congregation is governed by an elected board of trustees, comprising seven to nine fellowship members, in accordance with our bylaws. Our 2022-2023 board of trustees includes:

  • Marilyn Huckenpoehler, President
  • Donna Bauer, Vice-President
  • Janis Jolly, Secretary
  • Julie Keitel, Treasurer
  • Ryan Farkas, Member at Large
  • Laura Moriarty, Member at Large
  • Alysa Remsburg, Member at Large

Many of the weekly or programmatic tasks not otherwise taken care of by staff members are handled by several volunteer teams. These include:

  • Adult Religious Education
  • Building and Grounds
  • Endowment
  • Finance
  • Financial Stewardship
  • Member Services
  • Nominating
  • Personnel
  • Religious Education
  • Social & Environmental Justice
  • Sunday Services and Music

If you have questions or are interested in sharing your talents with one of the teams above, please contact our office at admin@uulacrosse.org. You can also find contact information for each team below! Click the images to enlarge.